Over a century ago, around 1884, wealthy sportsmen whose leisure time was spent hunting, fishing and cruising on luxurious yachts, decided to form a yacht club. In New Smyrna Beach they found the ideal location for cruising and holding regattas. The great industrialists and Europeans with titles traveled and sailed for weeks to spend their leisure time in this wonderful cruising area.

By 1928 plans materialized to form Smyrna Yacht Club with thirty-six charter member families. The wealthy inventor Russ J. Christy became the first Commodore serving for six years.

In the thirties an architect noted for his Spanish Renaissance designs was chosen to build a clubhouse. SYC soon became a landmark along the Indian River. The Spanish Renaissance styling is preserved and admired by members of other clubs in the Florida Council.

Social history was made in 1932 when SYC sponsored an international regatta. Sportsmen and fans from England, France, Germany, Italy, Sweden and Cuba joined US enthusiasts with the grand prize being the tall silver Lipton Cup Trophy permanently on display in the Club’s trophy case. It is one of twelve deeded to clubs around the U.S. by tea magnate Sir Thomas Lipton and the only one in Florida.

Membership grew, a ballroom was added and by 1951 the Club obtained a license and opened the bar. The swimming pool was added in 1964 and an East Room was added overlooking the pool.

Over the coming years, membership increased and the Club matured. Inner and outer docks were added as well as the Tiki.

Since the Yacht Club was established by members interested in boating, the SYC Sailors and Old Men of the Sea continue the rich history of boating, racing and teaching members to sail.

In the early history of our Club, wooden powerboat racing was held regularly from 1928 to 1941. Today we have wooden Cocktail Class boats and have hosted an Official Cocktail Class Wooden Boat (CCWBRA) Power Boat Regatta. There will be boats competing from all over the US for the Governor’s Cup donated by Governor Sholtz in the 1930’s.

Membership continues to grow as the Club goes through planned renovations and improvements. We have a rich history of which we are proud and continue to carry the legacy forward to the future.